Nikol Pashinyan Formally Elected Prime Minister of Armenia

He Received 59 votes for, and 42 Against

The Armenian Parliament elected opposition party leader Nikol Pashinyan as Prime Minister of Armenia on May 8, 2018, thus bringing peace to the country.

Pashinyan received 59 votes for and 42 against him at the special session of the Armenian Parliament.

President Armen Sarkissian signed an executive order announcing Nikol Pashinyan’s election as PM.

Pashinyan and his Yelk Political Party had staged demonstrations which lawmakers nominated Serzh Sargsyan as the Prime Minister after as President for two terms. Protesters were very unhappy and they blocked roads for eleven days. Fortunately the demonstrations were peaceful and no injuries were recorded.

However, on April 23, Prime Minister Sargsyan decided to resign to help safeguard civic peace following days of demonstrations by hundreds and thousands, estimated at least 250,000 people.

On May 1st, the Armenian Parliament was to elect a new Prime Minister, however, Pashinyan as the only candidate, failed to get elected for not receiving the majority of votes, losing by 8 votes.

A week later, on May 8th, Parliament voted for Pashinyan for the position of Prime Minister receiving 59 votes. Peaceful gatherings filled the squares, in Yerevan and other cities, celebrating Nikol Pashinyan’s victory. People danced and sang in the streets for the victory, as if it was “the people’s victory.”

During the demonstrations, Pashinyan had said: “This is a campaign against Serzh Sargsyan’s third term in office and against the ruling HHK Party. This is a campaign against hopelessness and for dignity.” He also mentioned several times that ruling Republican Party is autocratic and that Armenia needs democratic system to govern the country.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.