Armenian Caucus Members Re-Elected

WASHINGTON, D.C — Following the 2016 elections, 97% of the Members of the Congressional Caucus on Armenian issues seeking re-election won, the Armenian Assembly of America reported. While caucus candidates were resoundingly successful at the ballot box this cycle, 11 members will not return to Congress due to retirement, resignation, or because they sought other office.

Three of the Armenian Caucus members who ran for another office won their races. Reps. Janice Hahn (D-CA) for Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors, Candice Miller (R-MI), for Macomb County Public Works Commissioner, and Chris Van Holten (D-MO) for the U.S Senate after defeating Turkish Caucus Congresswoman, Donna Edwards in the Maryland primary.

Co-Chairs Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ), Jackie Speier, (D-CA), David Valadao (R-CA), and Vice Co-Chair, Adam Schiff (D-CA), and Dave Trott (R-MI), were among those re-elected for the 115th Congress, however, Armenian Caucus Co-Chair Robert Dold (R-IL), lost to Democratic challenger, Brad Schneider.

“The Armenian Assembly congratulates all of our friends in Congress on their successful re-election. We look forward to working with the Armenian Caucus Co-Chairs and Vice Co-Chairs to strengthen the Caucus and expand its membership,” stated Assembly Executive Director Bryan Ardouny. “The Assembly thanks Armenian Caucus Co-Chair Robert Dold for his dedication to Armenian and the Armenian American community during his time in office, especially sponsoring Armenian Genocide Resolution H.Res and H.Res”

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.